Palazzo Mocenigo, once home to the powerful Mocenigo family, now houses the Museum of Textiles and Costumes
Palazzo Mocenigo has been home to the San Stae branch of the influencial and powerful Mocenigo family, one of the most influencial families in Venice, 7 members of which became Doges between 1414 and 1778. A large building of gothic origins, the Palazzo Mocenigo was rebuilt and drastically changed in the XVII Century, giving it its current aspect. Of particular interest are the beautiful Palladian windows of the central hall on the first floor, the so-called “Portego”, and the ceiling frescoes of late XVIII century, which were realized for the majestic wedding of Alvise Mocenigo and Laura Corner.
Left to the city in 1975, Palazzo Mocenigo was opened to the public in 1985 as the Study Centre of the History of Fabrics and Costumes. Renewed and expanded in 2013, the itinerary through 20 rooms evokes different aspects of the life and activities of Venetian noblemen of the time, with great attention to fashion and costumes which played a great role in venetian life all through the history of the Serenissima. Ever heard of Venetian parties?
Find this location, on the map
To find more places, by location, you can consult our interactive map
Our selection of places to explore and where to eat, drink, shop …
In the area
Want more photos, videos, tips and stories from Venice, Italy?
We're on a mission to spread meaningful content about the authentic Venice far and wide. Try our email and see for yourself!