The Museo Correr, past home to the Austrian Sovereigns and to the King of Italy, exhibits great collections narrating the history of Venice from the 13th to the 19th.
Telling the history of Venice from the 13th to the 19th century through its collection of paintings, prints, coins, weapons, and architecture, the Museo Correr consists of two wings: the “Procuratie Nove” and the “Ala Napoleonica”.
Built on top of a destroyed church, the “Napoleonic Wing” with its neo-classical inspired architecture and the Empire style decorations was meant to serve as a residence for the new sovereign, but was finished only in the 19th century under the Austrian ruling.
It was used for 38 years as the official residence of the young sovereigns Franz Joseph and Elisabeth, “Sissi”, until it became the Venetian residence of the King of Italy in 1866.
Also, in 1820 the “Procuratie Nuove”, which had been built in the XVII century as an expansion for housing the offices and apartments of the procurators of San Marco, were renewed and became part of what is referred to, today, as the Royal Palace complex.
Every ticket is valid for 3 months and grants 1 admission to each of the following museums: the Doge’s Palace, the Museo Correr, the Museo Archeologico Nazionale and the Monumental Rooms of the Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana.
Find this location, on the map
To find more places, by location, you can consult our interactive map
Our selection of places to explore and where to eat, drink, shop …
In the area
Want more photos, videos, tips and stories from Venice, Italy?
We're on a mission to make Venetian life and tourism better and to spread meaningful content about the authentic Venice far and wide. Try our email and see for yourself!