This museum collection showcases unique glass pieces going from as far back as to the 5th century B.C.E, until the contemporary glass crafts.
Originally a patrician’s palace in Gothic style, in 1659 it became the residence of Bishop Marco Giustinian who then bought and donated it to the Torcello diocese. When the Torcello diocese was abolished in 1805, the palace became Murano’s town hall. The museum was created in 1861 and was housed on the first floor, but the rapid growth of the collection lead the museum to occupy the whole building. Since 1923, when Murano was annexed to Venice, the museum became part of the Venice Civic Museums.
The collection showcases unique pieces dating back to the 5th century B.C.E as well as as presenting works of the the Golden Age of glassmaking between the 14th and 17th century and finally displaying contemporary glass crafts. It is worth mentioning the chandelier with 60 branches on the first floor, which was presented at the first Murano Glass Exposition in 1864 and was awarded the gold medal.
Find this location, on the map
To find more places, by location, you can consult our interactive map
Our selection of places to explore and where to eat, drink, shop …
In the area
Want more photos, videos, tips and stories from Venice, Italy?
We're on a mission to spread meaningful content about the authentic Venice far and wide. Try our email and see for yourself!